Image of blue text that says "The Doctor Jacob Bolotin Award"

The Dr. Jacob Bolotin Awards honor individuals and organizations that are a positive force in the lives of blind people and whose work advances the ultimate goal of helping transform our dreams into reality.

Dr. Jacob W. Bolotin (1888-1924) was the world’s first physician who was blind from birth. He achieved that goal despite the tremendous challenges faced by blind people in his time. Not only did he realize his own dream, but he also went on to support and inspire many others.

Winners of the Dr. Jacob Bolotin Awards:

  • Break down barriers facing blind people in an innovative way
  • Change negative perceptions of blindness and blind people
  • Push past existing boundaries to inspire blind people to achieve new heights

Winners receive a cash award and have included entrepreneurs, volunteers, filmmakers, authors, mathematicians, technology developers, artists, teachers, nonprofit organizations, programs, partnerships, and more.

The awards are presented annually at our national convention in July.

The Dr. Jacob Bolotin Awards are funded by the National Federation of the Blind with assistance from the Alfred and Rosalind Perlman Trust, which was created by a bequest left to the Santa Barbara Foundation and the National Federation of the Blind by Jacob Bolotin’s niece-in-law, author Rosalind Perlman.

More Information

The online application for the 2019 awards is available from November 15, 2018 to April 15, 2019. Application materials must be received electronically or postmarked by April 15, 2019.

Recent Dr. Jacob Bolotin Award Winners

Bolotin Award Winner badgeContact Information

James Gashel, Chairman
Dr. Jacob Bolotin Award Committee
Mobile: 808-234-9259
Google Voice: 970-306-9779

Sponsored by the Alfred & Rosalind Perlman Trust. Presented by the National Federation of the Blind.